All Because You Kissed Me Goodnight

September 16, 2005 at 2:38 am 2 comments

~

?As they lowered her casket in the snow?? that was the last line of the poem ?Class Ring?, written by Sandy Roistan. It was one of the saddest, written poetry when I was in high school. The poem used to be everywhere and even on forwarded emails and everyone was claiming to have written it.

I liked how she did her rhymes. ?All Because You Kissed Me Goodnight? was also written by Sandy Roistan and it was the first poem I read that had brilliant wordplay in it (you don?t get to read much creative writing back in highschool).

~

All because you kissed me goodnight

I climbed the door, and opened the stairs,
Said my pajamas and put on my prayers,
Then turned off the bed and crawled into the light,
All because you kissed me goodnight.

Next morning, I woke and scrambled my shoes,
Polished my eggs and toasted the news,
I couldn’t tell my left from my right,
All because you kissed me goodnight.

That evening at last, I felt normal again,
So I picked up my mother, and called up the phone,
I spoke to the puppy and threw dad a bone
Even at midnight, the sun was still bright,
All because you kissed me goodnight.


Sandy Roistan

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Sa Bawat Pintig Class Ring

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edeson xyviel  |  September 19, 2006 at 3:57 am

    I hope you’ll not get mad. I got my copy of Sandy Roistan’s poem from your blog. I just need it for my class tomorrow.. I cant find it on other sites. It’s a good start in teaching poems in high school.. Thanx a lot. You have lots of literary stuffs. Hope I can check out your blog from time to time. . .

  • 2. confessions  |  September 27, 2006 at 1:20 am

    no problem, glad to be of help.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2005
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

